the blog of Shawnee Moon

Day Off. MORE RAIN

I wouldn’t live here if you paid me.  I can’t take the WET.

Pennsylvania is a bit like Wyoming, in that it’s a very conservative state, there’s still smoking in some of the bars, and the motorcyclists don’t have to wear helmets.  But the rain drives me nuts.  I’m used to the high and dry climate of Cody, Wyoming.

After I left the truck stop mentioned in the previous post, I put my neon yellow and reflective rain coat on (that someone gave me) and walked west a bit.  The rain was relentless.  I decided to cut down to Bellefonte (near State College, where Penn State is) and get a cabin at a KOA to get out of the weather.  It’s not me so much, it’s my gear.  Although I waterproofed everything, and tarped it, the rain manages to dampen everything.  Even my sleeping bag feels damp.  It’ll go in a dryer in a bit.  Anyway, as usual, I stopped at a dive bar, where locals asked a lot of questions, bought me a couple beers, etc.  Their kitchen was closed, but they told me of a good cheap sub shop across the street.  I was apparently 5 miles or so from the campground, so I bought a sandwich, put it in my pack, and headed to the KOA.   A friend who has a KOA card got me a cabin.  I had checked my Garmin GPS and it told me how long till sunset, so I knew I had to get going, and tried to time it right.  I followed the GPS, it was a lot of roundabout directions.  Aggravating because the KOA was just 2 miles on Rt. 80 but I’m not allowed on it, so altogether about 8 miles to it.  Anyway, the GPS in my Droid said I was close, I didn’t see it, then the road I was on just ended at some truck turnaround parking lot. I was tired, mad, etc.  I called the KOA and she explained I was still 2 miles away, and I had to walk along what looked like interstate but wasn’t; it was, rather, the convergence and separation of numerous highways. Dangerous piece of roadway. By now it was starting to get dark.  Had the GPS been right I would have hit the KOA just at early dusk, in daylight, how I planned it.  So I hugged the shoulder and hurried along, pissed at the GPS. Trucks came whizzing by, some were entering, some were exiting, one came VERY close to hitting Panda, I had to pull him back FAST to avoid the side of a tractor trailer making a wide turn.  Scared the shit out of me.  My heart was pounding, I did NOT like the road!  Finally the exits ended and I was on a shoulderless road, now it was dark. I even called to see if there was a cab company that had a van, just so I could avoid being hit. “By the time I get one to you, you’ll be there.”  So I hoped I’d get seen and not hit, and walked the twisty road to the campground.  Along the highway last week I picked up a square reflector that had been attached to a guard rail (they all seem to fall off) and had it attached to my Camelbak, so I was at least somewhat reflective at night.  Despite being a bit warm from the humidity, I kept my ivory-colored fleece sweatshirt on because of it’s light color.

I’d had a brief reprise from the rain, but it was starting to come down AGAIN.

When I got the KOA I opened my “Kabin” as they call it, and there was a box, garbage, and an extra mattress leaning on a desk.  I called KOA and they moved me to Kabin 2.  They had just put a new mattress in there and forgot to clean it.  Anyway, the forecast says 100% chance of rain all day, 50% chance tonight, and it gradually decreases.  So I think I’m going to stay put.  Spend the day reading, writing, catching up with friends, doctoring a host of new blisters, washing clothes, staying dry.  This cabin has a full bed, a set of bunk beds, a counter/desk thing, a chair and an outlet.  Pretty basic.  But it does have a roof.  Also has a nice front porch with a bench.  The campground has a laundry room, a game room, showers (!!)  a small general store (since all I have are power bars with me, I hope they have some food), so I’ll manage.  Might get a bit stir crazy, but at least I get can my stuff sorted out, repacked, washed, dried, and give my feet a day to rest and heal.  I don’t know what’s with the new round of blisters.  This new shoe and 2-pairs-of-socks system seemed to be doing the trick.  Have I already worn these Reeboks out??

I walked 25 miles the day before, and all told probably 18 or so yesterday, so I’m making mileage, but this is aggravating to be blistered again, and have really no hope of being dry today, so I’m gonna try to relax and just take the punches, use my time here for something useful. Or hell, just play video games.

So after an aggravating wet day there was one lovely highlight (besides my dear friend gifting me this dry haven).  After I dozed off last night the “special” ringtone came on and my sweetie called me just to talk a bit.  Nice to know he hasn’t forgotten me.  I sure haven’t forgotten him.  Just makes me want to walk faster and further, to get back to Cody sooner, and see him again.  Love can be wonderful, and when there’s 2000 miles between you, it can also be great incentive.  But painful.  God I miss him.

I think my heart is blistered as well.  Wonder how to affix moleskin to it….

Leave a comment