the blog of Shawnee Moon

Fundraising

After I posted the last blog entry, a couple things happened that have made me much more determined to start in New Jersey.

Besides visiting the wonderful people who helped me out on my pedestrian adventure in 2012, a coast to coast ride has a diffferent “feel” to it than a Wisconsin to Washington trip.

I have been exploring ways to get my motorcycle, gear and myself to the East coast.  Truck rental plus the enormous amount of fuel it would consume is horrendously expensive.  My boyfriend suggested buying a cheap car, driving it (towing the bike) East, and then selling it out there.

Riding to NJ from here, and then to Washington and then back to here is 6000 miles on a bike: I doubt my back can do it.  The 4000 proposed mles will be tough as it is. Hauling the bike will get me there faster and with less exertion and strain on my back.  I don’t like to ride very fast, and my motorycle is quite light, so interstate is out. The big rigs about blow me off the road! Once in New Jersey, if I can swing this, I can putt along at an easy pace, and do what I set out to do: See America.

So, I have set up a fundraising campaign on Indiegogo.  My goal was $2500 as I had priced the rental vehiles and based it off that, but I can pull it off for less if I can pick up a cheap car for a few hundred that’ll make 2000 miles.  Ugly won’t matter.

The address to see the fundraiser, and to donate to it (every little bit helps!) is:

https://life.indiegogo.com/fundraisers/help-me-finish-making-my-dream-come-true-please/x/10503425

So many people were so generous last time, I am hoping some of you can pitch in a few bucks and let me get this out of my system. I am going either way, but being able to start back in Ocean City would be ideal. I want to take more photos and jog my porous memory for the book.

The walk was the most amazing adventure, but I never got to finish it.  The motorcycle excursion is the most practical way I could find to complete the trip. I could again be out in the open air, camping, getting sunburned and seeing America, just at a faster pace than the three miles an hour I covered last time.

And like the last trip, I intend to keep continuous updates and share photos and stories and observations as often as possible, on here and on Facebook and Instagram.

So many of you supported me before, I hope you can find an extra $10 or $20 to pitch in to keep my story going and my dream alive.  Many people who “followed” me on here and on Facebook seemed to enjoy my daily updates and photos… but the story wasn’t over.  Everyone who helped, or supported me, or cheered me on last time, became part of the story. I hope you all join me in finishing the story… it can have a very happy ending with a little help. My gratitude will be immeasurable.

Thank you again for your support.

Love, Live and Give!

Leave a comment